Lifestyle & Entertainment

WATCH: EXO’s Baekhyun drops ‘City Lights’ solo album, debuts #1 in iTunes worldwide

EXO’s Baekhyun has successfully debuted as a soloist with his mini album “City Lights.” (Photo courtesy: EXO Official Twitter account)

Another EXO member debuted as soloist and EXOLs all over the world are hyping him up!

On Wednesday, EXO’s main vocalist Baekhyun, whose real name is Byun Baekhyun, dropped his first mini album “City Lights” with carrying single “UN Village.” He also previously broke records by selling more than 400,000 copies of his album with two versions: Day and Night, becoming the first-ever soloist in a decade to do so.

“City Lights” features five songs and a bonus track written and produced by diverse artists: UN Village, Stay Up, Betcha, Ice Queen, Diamond, and Psycho. After its release, the 27-year-old singer immediately charted number 1 on iTunes in at least 63 countries and hashtags for his debut all trended worldwide, respectively.

As per Baekhyun, “UN Village” is an RnB track which centers on a romantic relationship. As of today, the song is already at its peak of 3 million views, hours after it was released.

The release of Baekhyun’s much-anticipated solo came after the mandatory enlistments of their members Xiumin and D.O. Baekhyun also is the third soloist from the group following the solo debuts of their sole Chinese member Lay and main vocalist Chen.

South Korean boy band EXO is also set to come back to the Philippines next month, August 24, for their 5th EXO Planet concert series entitled “EXplOration” in which Baekhyun promised he will be performing special stages.

READ: EXO is coming back to Manila in August with EXplOration

Baekhyun is the main vocalist of EXO and is part of its sub-unit EXO-CBX together with EXO Chen and Xiumin.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *