Top Stories

State of Calamity declared in areas surrounding Mayon volcano


Albay Governor Joey Salcedo decided to declare a state of calamity in areas surrounding the Mayon volcano.

After an emergency meeting with provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council this morning, the mayor declares Legazpi, Tabaco, Ligao and cities of Guniobatan, Camalig, Daraga, Sto. Domingo, and Malilipot under a state of calamity.

During their meeting, they discussed the evacuation of residents in a safer place, including making sure that their needs like water and food will be supplied.

Residents may last up to 90 days in the evacuation centers.

Mayon is now under alert level 3 because of the appearance of magma in its opening.  The said active volcano may erupt in a few weeks.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *