Sotto reelected as Senate President of 18th Congress

Senate President Vicente ‘Tito’ Sotto III (Photo Credits:

Senator Vicente ‘Tito’ Sotto has been reelected as the Senate President on the start of the 18th Congress.

On Monday, the higher chamber formally opened the start of Congress wherein Senate President Pro-Tempore Ralph Recto and Majority Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri were also reelected.

The session was attended by almost all the senators including the neophytes such as Senators Imee Marcos, Ronald dela Rosa, Francis Tolentino, and Christopher ‘Bong’ Go, except for Senators Leila de Lima who is currently imprisoned at Camp Crame and Manny Pacquiao who recently concluded his fight with Keith Thurman.

At the start of the session, the results of the May 13 polls and National Board of Canvassers resolution were read.

Senators Zubiri and Pia Cayetano led the nomination for Sotto.

The voting was done through viva voce where those who are in favor of electing him shouted aye. Meanwhile, Minority Leader Franklin Drilon said Senators Risa Hontiveros and Francis Pangilinan abstained from voting.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *