San Beda sweeps NCAA finals series to become three-peat champions

Photo Credits:

For the third straight season, the San Beda Red Lions has won the championship of the NCAA men’s basketball tournament.

The Red Lions defeated the Lyceum Pirates, 71-56, to put an end to the Best – of – 3finals series in Game Two on Monday, Nov. 12, at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

The Pirates got the score gap to as close as five points, 49-44, at the end of the third quarter. However, the Red Lions outscored their opponents, 22-12, in the final period in order to sweep the finals series.

Finals Most – Valuable – Player Javee Mocon scored 16 points and 11 rebounds to lead the defending champions to their 22nd basketball title in the oldest collegiate league in the Philippines.

Clint Doliguez also registered 14 points while Donald Tankoua finished with 13 points and 16 rebounds for the Red Lions.

CJ Perez, who got suspended during Game – 1, provided 19 points for the Pirates but it was not enough as the team is once again denied the first basketball championship in the NCAA.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *