Top Stories

Prez Duterte names new PHL Olympic Committee officials

Malacañang Photo

President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday, March 5 swore in new officials of the Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) during a ceremony in Malacañang.

Among those who took their oaths were POC President Victorio Vargas and POC Chairman Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino.

Vargas was named as the POC President following the end of the reign of Jose “Peping” Cojuangco, who led the committee way back 2004.

Meanwhile, Tolentino, the current Representative of the 7th district of Cavite, was named POC chairman following his victory against table tennis president Ting Ledesma.

After being named as the new POC chief, Vargas said that he is eyeing to push for a successful campaign in the Asian Games in August as well as the Philippine’s hosting of the 2019 Southeast Asian Games.

According to Malacañang, “the POC accredits the members of the Philippine Delegation to the Olympic Games, Asian Games and the Southeast Asian Games.”

On the same day, the President also presided over the 23rd Cabinet meeting in Malacañang.

One Comment

  1. Sana yung mga newly elected officials will give more importance sa mga representatives natin sa mga Olympics. sila nagbibigay karangalan sa bansa natin. we should give them all the help they can get.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *