Parks, Avenido, Cañada named Top 10 ABL Players of All Time

Bobby Ray Parks Jr. holding his third Local Most Valuable Player award in the ASEAN Basketball League (Photo Credits:

Filipino basketball stars Bobby Ray Parks Jr. Leo Avenido, and Jerrick Cañada made it to the Top 10 ASEAN Basketball League Players of All Time.

Parks is known as the only player in the ABL to win three Local Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award. He was also named Finals MVP in 2018 when he led Alab Pilipinas to winning the championship.

Avenido, meanwhile, is so far the only recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award of the ABL. He was also feted with the Local MVP award in 2012 and was part of the San Miguel Beermen team that won the title in 2013. The 6’2 guard has scored a total of 1,627 points in the regional league, and currently ranks fifth in the ABL Scoring List.

While he never played for a Philippine team, Cañada showed his skills with the Indonesia Warriors and Hi-Tech Bangkok City that won the ABL championship in 2012 and 2014, respectively. He was also named Finals MVP during the same year that he won his second title.

During the launching of their 10th season at the Conrad Hotel in Pasay City on Thursday, Oct. 10, ABL also recognized Mario Wuysang, Wong Wei Long, Steven Thomas, Attaporn Lertmalaiporn, Marcus Elliot, Chris Charles, and Xavier Alexander.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *