Top Stories

Metro Manila remains under GCQ; Cebu City downgrades to MECQ

Healthcare workers take blood samples from a bike rider at a coronavirus disease (COVID-19) drive-thru testing center in Manila, Philippines, July 15, 2020. REUTERS/Eloisa Lopez

President Rodrigo Duterte decided that the National Capital Region will remain under general community quarantine (GCQ) from July 16 until July 31.

Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said that the University of the Philippines (UP) recommended that Metro Manila revert to modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) in order to control the spread of the 2019 Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) in the region.

However,  National Task Force  against COVID-19 chief implementer Secretary Carlito Galvez Jr., and Department of Interior and Local Government Sec. Eduardo Año appealed for President Duterte to reconsider since Metro Manila mayors promised to intensify their localized lock-downs.

Palalakasin nila ‘yung kanilang testing, tracing, and treatment at ipatutupad ng mas malawakan ‘yung mga restrictions sa GCQ,” Roque said during a televised meeting with the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases on Monday, July 15.

Roque warned that President Duterte could revert Metro Manila to MECQ if the local chief executives would fail to slow down the spread of COVID-19 in the next two weeks.

So hinihimok natin ang ating mga kababayan dito sa Metro Manila, kinakailangan po ingat buhay para sa ating hanapbuhay,” the Malacanang official said.

Aside from Metro Manila, Roque said that the following areas will also remain under GCQ:

  • the provinces of Laguna, Cavite, and Rizal in CALABARZON region;
  • Lapu Lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay City, Minglanilla, and Concepcion in the Central Visayas region;
  • Ormoc City, and Southern Leyte in Eastern Visayas region;
  • Zamboanga City in the Zamboanga Peninsula;
  • Butuan City, and Agusan Del Norte,  in the Caraga region;
  • and the province of Basilan in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

Dito, bagama’t bukas na ang ating ekonomiya, kinakailangan ang mga kabataan, ang mga matatanda, ang mayroong comorbidities o ‘yung mga may sakit, manatili pa rin sa kanilang mga tahanan,” Roque said.

The Palace spokesperson also announced that President Duterte decided to downgrade Cebu City to MECQ.

Ibig sabihin bagama’t bahagyang bukas, sarado pa rin ang lugar na nasa MECQ except for ‘yung mga indispensable industries. Ang labas ay para lamang sa mga necessities at para sa trabaho kung allowed na ‘yung industriya ninyo na magtrabaho,” Roque explained.

“Bawal pa rin ang public gathering, hanggang lima lang ang public gathering at kinakailangan manatili sa kanilang mga bahay maging homeliners,” he added.

Meanwhile, Roque said that the following areas will be under ‘medium risk’ modified general community quarantine (MGCQ):

  • the province of Benguet, and Baguio City in the Cordillera Administrative Region;
  • Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Ilocos Norte, La Union, and Dagupan City in Ilocos Region;
  • Cagayan, Isabela, and Nueva Vizcaya in Cagayan Valley;
  • Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Bulacan, Tarlac, Zambales, and Angeles City in Central Luzon;
  • Batangas, Quezon, and Lucena City in CALABARZON region;
  • Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, and Puerto Princesa City in MIMAROPA region;
  • Albay, Masbate, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Sorsogon, and Naga City in Bicol Region;
  • Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Antique, Aklan, Guimaras, Iloilo City, and Bacolod City in Western Visayas;
  • Negros Oriental, Bohol, and Cebu Province in Central Visayas;
  • Western Samar, Leyte, Biliran, and Tacloban City in Eastern Visayas;
  • Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, and Zamboanga del Norte in Zamboanga Peninsula;
  • Misamis Occidental, Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, and Iligan City in Northern Mindanao;
  • Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao de Oro and Davao City in Davao Region;
  • Sultan Kudarat, Cotabato, South Cotabato, and General Santos City in SOCCSKSARGEN region;
  • Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Island, Surigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur in Caraga; and
  • Lanao del Sur, and Maguindanao in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.

The rest of the Philippines will be remain under ‘low-risk’ MGCQ.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *