Lifestyle & Entertainment

Maja Salvador named Best Actress at 1st Asia Contents Awards in Busan, South Korea

Maja Salvador was named as the Best Actress at 1st Asia Contents Awards in Busan | Photo courtesy: Maja Salvador/Instagram

Actress Maja Salvador was named Best Actress in the first-ever Asia Contents Awards held in Busan, South Korea on Sunday, October 6.

The award was given to Salvador for her portrayal as Lily Cruz/Ivy Aguas in the 2017 prime-time series Wildflower.

The Asia Contents Awards, launched by the Busan International Film Festival and the Asian Film Market, aims to award the finest TV dramas produced in 10 ASEAN countries, including Korea, Japan, China, and the Philippines.

In her acceptance speech, the actress extended her gratitude to the creators of Wildflower for entrusting her the role of Lily/Ivy.

“Playing Ivy Aguas and lily Cruz was a great challenge and pleasure for me as an actor—to paint an honest picture of what she went through, knowing that viewers empathize, cheer, and from time to time, hate her for her choices,” Maja said.

“It was an honor to be trusted with this role by our network, ABS-CBN, and the whole team of Wildflower, headed by Direk Ruel Bayani and to my directors, Direk Raymund Ocampo, Direk Cathy [Camarillo], to my boss Miss Maru Benitez, the whole team of writers for weaving the story.”

She also mentioned veteran actor and her Wildflower co-star Tirso Cruz III, who played the main villain Julio Ardiente.

“I share this recognition to all of my brilliant colleagues in the show, most especially to the veteran genius, Mr. Tirso Cruz III, who upped my game and encouraged me when I thought I had nothing more to give,” she said.

Aside from Salvador, another Best Actress award was given to Chinese actress Yao Chen for the drama series All Is Well.

During the awarding ceremony, Maja was accompanied by the Wildflower production manager Maru Benitez and director Raymund Ocampo, and her boyfriend Rambo Nunez.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *