Top Stories

Maguindanao declares state of calamity

Philippines Rebel Standoff
Bulilit Marquez

With the military’s intensified efforts to eradicate rebel forces in Mindanao, the provincial government of Maguindanao has declared a state of calamity as residents continue to flee their homes.

According to the Maguindanao provincial board, there are over 40,000 displaced residents in 11 towns.

In a news report, Board member Abubakar Katambak said this has prompted the Sangguniang Panlalawigan to pass a resolution during an emergency session on Tuesday to declare a state of calamity in the province.

“This (declaration) gives the provincial government an authority to fully use its calamity fund to provide relief assistance to internally displaced persons,” Katambak said.

The towns that are affected in Maguindanao are Mamasapano, Shariff Saydona Mustapha, Datu Unsay, Datu Saudi, Shariff Aguak, Datu Salibo, Datu Hoffer, Datu Piang, Radjah Buayan, Sultan-sa-Barongis and Pagalungan.

Maguindanao Gov. Esmael Mangudadatu said the declaration of state calamity would speed up the delivery of services to residents affected.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *