IATF OKs temporary ban of PUVs from NCR Plus, Cebu City, and Davao City from entering Western Visayas

FILE PHOTO: Passengers on board a bus wear face masks and face shields, both mandatory in public transportation, to help curb coronavirus disease (COVID-19) infections, in Quezon City, Metro Manila, Philippines, August 19, 2020. REUTERS/Eloisa Lopez/File Photo

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has approved the temporary halting of public utility vehicles (PUV) carrying passengers from Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Cebu City, and Davao City from entering Region 6.

In a Facebook post on Monday, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) said the request came from the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) following the extended enhanced community quarantine in Metro Manila and surrounding areas.

“Kabilang sa mga pansamantalang ipinagbabawal na bumiyahe papasok ng Region VI ang mga returning residents, tourists, Authorized Persons Outside of their Residences (APOR), Returning Overseas Filipinos (ROFs), and Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs),” its statement read.

“Hindi kasama sa ipinagbabawal ang pagbiyahe ng essential goods tulad ng pagkain, medical supplies, military aid, at relief efforts. Gayunpaman, hindi rin kasama sa mga bawal bumiyahe ang mga drayber at pahinante na kasamang nagdadala ng rolling cargoes,” it added.

On Saturday, the government announced the extension of ECQ in the NCR Plus bubble —Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal— in order to combat the spiking of COVID-10 cases in the country.

Davao City is currently under general community quarantine (GCQ) while Cebu City is placed under modified GCQ.

“Para sa mga katanungan, maaring tumawag sa LTFRB 24/7 hotline 1342 o magpadala ng e-mail sa:,” the statement read.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *