Lifestyle & Entertainment

Girls’ Generation back on track with 5 member sub-unit ‘Oh!GG’

Girls’ Generation’s Sunny, Taeyeon, Yoona, Yuri, and Hyoyeon are back as part of the sub-unit “Oh!GG” (Photo courtesy: Girls Generation Twitter)

After a year of hiatus, South Korean girl group Girls’ Generation, mostly known as SNSD revealed on Monday their new 5 member sub-unit.

In their official Twitter and Facebook accounts, SNSD dropped their first teaser image and the sub-unit  “Oh!GG” which will be debuting “Lil’ Touch” on September 5 at 6 p.m. KST via online music sites. The single includes the title track “Lil’Touch” and also a song called “Fermata.”

The members of Oh!GG are Taeyeon, Sunny, Hyoyeon, Yuri, and YoonA.

The unit name is a combination of the interjection “Oh!” and the group’s English initials GG, meaning that the members will showcase diverse music and charms to captivate global fans. “Oh!GG” also sounds like a Korean phrase that has a meaning like “flawless” or “amazing.”

SNSD debuted in 2007 with 9 members, however, in 2014, Jessica left the group. Meanwhile, in 2017, SM Entertainment revealed that three members of the group have opted out of renewing their contracts with the label. According to reports, members Tiffany, Seohyun, and Sooyoung have reportedly left SM to pursue solo ventures.

The latter pair will pursue acting, while California-born-and-raised Tiffany will pursue her studies in the States.

Taeyeon, YoonA, Yuri, Hyoyeon, and Sunny have renewed their contracts with the Korean entertainment agency.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *