Alab Pilipinas dominates Game-5 to regain ABL crown

Photo Credits:

Alab Pilipinas is the champion of the 8th season of the ASEAN Basketball League after defeating Mono Vampires, 102-92, duringĀ  Game-5 at Santa Rosa Multipurpose Complex, Laguna City.

In the final game of the Best-of-Five finals series, the Philippine team was led by their imports Renaldo Balkman, who finished with 32 points, and Justin Brownlee, who registered 24 points and 12 rebounds.

While in the side of the Thai basketball team, Mike Singletary scored 32 points while Sam Deguara gave 24 points and 18 rebounds.

From the start of the first quarter, Alab dominated the court after securing a 10-point lead, 14-4, in the first minutes of the game which widened their lead to 13 points, 27-14, before the start of the second frame.

The Vampires were able to get the score close to 54-49 in the third quarter, but had difficulties recovering after the home team extended their lead to 25 points, 81-56, in the same period.

Reigning ABL Local Most Valuable Player (MVP) Bobby Ray Parks Jr. also provided 13 points and 4 assists for the victory of the Philippine team, and was declared the Finals MVP.

This is the third time that a Philippine squad was crowned champion of the ABL, with the last in 2013, led by PBA stars June Mar Fajardo and Asi Taulava.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *