Top Stories

14 Senators show support to Sotto to remain as Senate President

Sen. Vicente Sotto III (Photo Credits:

A total of 14 senators signed a show of support for Sen. Vicente Sotto III to remain as Senate President until the 18h Congress.

The said resolution was inked by Sen. Panfilo Lacson based on the idea of Sen. Manny Pacquiao.

The senators who signed the said petition include Gringo Honasan, Grace Poe, Loren Legarda, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis Escudero, Koko Pimentel, Nancy Binay, Joel Villanueva, Sonny Angara, Richard Gordon, Miguel Zubiri and Ralph Recto.

The resolution states all of Sotto’s approved proposed bills and accomplishments.

Lacson and Pacquiao were prompted to file the said resolution after reports surfaced that there are some factions who are planning to contest Sotto’s position and put Cynthia Villar as his replacement.

Villar on the other hand already made it clear that she has no intention of becoming the next Senate President.

The lady senator also confronted Pacquiao and Pimentel and advised them to meet with other members of the PDP-Laban, including Sotto and sort the issue out within their party.  She need not be included in what she referred to as a clamor for a change in leadership in the Senate.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *