Valdez, Marano lead national women’s volleyball team

After announcing the 20-member pool for the national women’s volleyball team on Wednesday, the Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc., together with national team head coach Shaq Delos Santos finally revealed the final 14 who will represent the Philippines in the upcoming international volleyball competitions.

Headlining the said team is Aby Marano, who was also named as this year’s team captain.  Aside from Marano, the powerhouse team will include former De La Salle University players’ Majoy Baron, Mika Reyes, Kim Fajardo, Kianna Dy, Dawn Macandili and Cha Cruz, the towering tandem of sisters’ Jaja and Dindin Santiago, Philippine Super Liga player Frances Molina, former Ateneo De Manila University star player Jia Morado and the phenom herself, Alyssa Valdez.

Rhea Dimaculangan and Denden Lazaro have been picked as reserves as well.

Valdez and Morado who skipped the last few sessions of the tryout because of their injuries expressed their excitement to play for the national team.  However, in an interview with local sports source, all players will have to seek permission from their respective teams first.

The training for the national team will definitely coincide with the other training schedules of the girls with their teams.  But one thing is for sure, all of them are willing to give their best in order to bring home the championship for the country.

The national team will soon start preparing for the Jakarta Asian Games, the 2018 Asian Games in Indonesia, 2018 Asian Volleyball Cup in Thailand and 2019 Southeast Asian Games, which will be held here in the Philippines.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *