TS Basyang enters PAR, signal warning raised over 37 areas

Photo from

Tropical Storm “Basyang” continues its threat over Caraga Region.

According to the weather bureau, scattered to widespread moderate to heavy rains is expected to prevail in the next 24 hours over the Visayas, Caraga, Northern Mindanao, Zamboanga Peninsula and the provinces of Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Compostela Valley, and Lanao del Sur.

Meanwhile, scattered light to moderate with at times heavy rains is expected over Bicol Region, MIMAROPA, and the rest of Mindanao.

Residents of the said areas are advised to monitor for updates, take precautionary measures against possible flooding and landslides.

PAGASA added that TS Basyang is expected to make landfall in Caraga Region sometime this morning.

Sea travel remains risky over the seaboards of areas under Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal (TCWS), the seaboards of Northern Luzon and of Visayas, the eastern seaboards of Central Luzon, and the eastern and southern seaboards of Southern Luzon due to the approaching Tropical Storm and the surge of the Northeast Monsoon.

As of 4 a.m. the center of Tropical Storm “Basyang” was estimated based on all available data at 175 km East of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur.

It has packed maximum sustained winds of 65 kph near the center and gustiness of up to 80 kph. It is forecasted to move West Northwest at 25 kph.

Signal number one has been hoisted in the following areas:

  • Palawan, including Calamian Group of Islands and southern section of Masbate
  • Aklan
  • Capiz
  • Antique
  • Iloilo
  • Guimaras
  • Rest of Negros Occidental
  • Rest of Cebu
  • Leyte
  • Biliran
  • Samar
  • Eastern Samar
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Rest of Bukidnon
  • North Cotabato
  • Compostela Valley
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Oriental

While signal number two was raised over:

  • Bohol
  • Southern Cebu
  • Siquijor
  • Negros Oriental
  • Southern Negros Occidental
  • Southern Leyte
  • Dinagat Island
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Camiguin
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Northern section of Bukidnon

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *