Sotto soon to take over as the new Senate President

Senator Vicente Sotto III

Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III is expected to sit on his new post as Senate President next week after members of the majority bloc formally elected him as the new leader.

The resolution proclaiming Sotto as the next Senate President was signed by 14 senators, namely Sonny Angara, Gregorio Honasan, Cynthia Villar, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Sherwin Gatchalian, JV Ejercito, Rochard Gordon, Nancy Binay, Loren Legarda, Joel Villanueva, Chiz Escudero, Manny Pacquiao, Panfilo Lacson, and Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto. Meanwhile, Sen. Grace Poe is set to sign the resolution today.

There are 17 members of the majority bloc, including Senate President Kiko Pimentel III and Sotto himself. Pimentel is expected to ask for an extension of his term as Senate President, however, he is also running for re-election next year under PDP Laban, making him more relevant in stepping down as the Senate President. Yet, since the filing of certificates of candidacy will be on October 2018, Pimentel can stay in his position depending on what the Senate will agree upon in their meeting on Monday.

On the other hand, Sotto was already being groomed as Senate President before the start of the 17th Congress last July 2016. But this was neither formalized nor taken up since the start of the 17th Congress.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *