Philippine Navy steals spotlight in MBC’s Manila Bay Seasports Festival 2017

Photo by DZRH Noche Cacas
Photo by DZRH Noche Cacas

The Philippine Navy Dragonboat team overpowered their competitors in the recently concluded two-day MBC Manila Bay Seasports Festival 2017.

The Navy did not only retain their hold of the Women’s Category trophy buy also grabbed the gold for the two remaining divisions of the Dragonboat Race: the Open Category, and the Mixed Category. Defeating previous champions Onslaught Racing Dragons and Philippine Coast Guard.

Meanwhile, Ruben Quero riding Angilyn moved from last year’s 3rd place to becoming champion in the Stock Race category. The long-time ‘bangkero’ defeated previous champion Alvin Estacio riding Patricia, and fellow rider from La Union, Alfredo Rulloda riding Mamba, who grabbed the 2nd spot and the 3rd spot respectively.

On the Formula Race, another rider from La Union made a name for himself. Mark Kim Bantillan, who started boating at a young age of 13, defeated elder boaters for the Championship Spot.

This is the Manila Broadcasting Company’s 17th year of holding the annual Seasports competition. 18 teams including Triton Dragon Boat team and RCP Sea Dragons joined the said competition.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *