Top Stories

MBC’s DZRH and Love Radio bagsKBP Golden Dove Awards


DZRH, the flagship of Manila Broadcasting Company (MBC), bagged two awards during the 24th Kapisanan Ng Brodkaster Ng Pilipinas (KBP) Golden Dove Awards on Friday night at the Aliw Theater in Pasay City.

Best public affairs program host is Dr. Cesar Chavez, assistant vice president for news and public affairs of MBC-DZRH, while broadcast journalist Aly Narvaez brought home the best radio documentary for her facts and figures on “polusyon, nasaan ang solution” (pollution, where is the solution).

Apart from being a veteran, multi-awarded broadcaster and youth leader, Chavez has impressive and colorful credentials.

Chavez holds a doctorate in philosophy (Ph.D.) and won major awards from the Rotary Club of Manila, Philippine Jaycees, Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas, and the Catholic Mass Media Awards. He was also a multi-awarded student from high school to college.

In his professional life, Chavez has the distinction of receiving presidential appointments from President Cory Aquino to President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

Chavez was also a recipient of the U-S President Ronald Reagan Youth Initiative Program under which he participated in various training seminars and lectures in ten colleges and universities in the United States in 1987. Recently, he served as the City Administrator of Caloocan and the President of the University of Caloocan.

Narvaez, one of the youngest members in the organization, has proven that she can get it all done without compromising the quality of her work.

Narvaez finished Bachelor of Arts in Broadcast Communication, major in Broadcast Journalism, in the country’s premier university – University of the Philippines, in Diliman, Quezon City.

‪‎MBC’s Love Radio Manila bagged the Best Promotional Material” and “Best FM Radio Station” while DYOK of Iloilo City is best provincial am station.

Meanwhile, Kapamilya stars and ABS-CBN programs also received awards. Actress Jodie Sta. Maria won the Best Actress for TV Drama Program , while Coco Martin bagged his third Best Drama TV Actor. Last year, it was also Kapamilya stars who were hailed for the same awards -Jericho Rosales and Bea Alonzo.

DWIZ’s Radyoklinika is best magazine program with host Maru Pahati Sarne as best program host.

The beauteous television newscaster Cheryl Cosim-Alvarez with producer Ana Puod took the best newscast award for TV 5  Manila’s AksyonTONITE.

Cable News Network (CNN) Philippines bagged six awards for or Best TV Public Service Announcement (Metro-Wide Earthquake Drill 2015), Best Special Program (The Story of the Filipino People: Yolanda), Best TV Magazine Program (Leading Women), Best Sports Program (Sports Desk), and Best TV Culture and Arts Program (What I See – Season 3). CNN news anchor Mitzi Borromeo won the award for Best TV Newscaster.

Best Sports Program went to “Aksyon Sports” Sa Radyo Singko 92.3newsFM! hosted by veteran sportscaster Ron delos Reyes. (Joel C. Atencio)

One Comment

  1. Thank you, Mr. Joel Atencio, for mentioning me in your article. 🙂

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *