Lifestyle & Entertainment

LOOK: Kenyan runners dominate MBC’s Manila Bay Clean-Up Run 2019

Kenyan nationals once again dominated the 21k run of the 2019 MBC Manila Bay Clean-Up Run on Sunday, July 7(Photo courtesy: Kristan Carag)

The Manila Broadcasting Company has once again staged its annual Manila Bay Clean-Up Run on Sunday, July 7.

With over hundreds of participants, DJs from different MBC stations, including DZRH, Easy Rock, Yes FM, and Love Radio prepped the runners before the race for the 3k, 5k, 10k, and 21k run. The annual run for a cause also coincides with the 80th year of DZRH’s, the flagship AM radio station of MBC, anniversary.

Once again, the Kenyan runners dominated the 21k run-male category with Matthew Kipkorir Sigei, who only took a total of 10 minutes and 50 seconds to finish, as the first placer. He was followed by his fellow Kenyan national Leonard Kimboi with 11 mins and 38 seconds, and Jackson Chirchir with a total of 17 minutes and 27 seconds.

On the other hand, Christine Hallasgo finished 21k run-female category with almost 30 minutes. She was followed by April Diaz with TRT of 30 mins and 42 seconds, and Maricar Camacho with 31 mins and 2 seconds.

Meanwhile, DJ Ganda Wanda of Yes FM and Victor de Guzman of DZRH News Television serenaded the runners with their performance and even gave out some freebies from the sponsors.

Aside from the raffle draw that definitely hyped the crowd, the surprise performance of actor, singer, and film director Xian Lim just completed the celebration as he interacted with the runners thru his singing and even taking selfies with the fans’ phones.

Also present in the event are Aliwan Queens such as Reyna ng Aliwan 2019 Nicole Borromeo and, Reyna ng Aliwan 2016 and  Ms. Eco-International 2018 Cynthia Thomalla. The executives of MBC were also present and participated in the annual clean-up run which focuses more on protecting and rehabilitating the Manila Bay.


21K Male Category

  • 1st place – Mathew Kipkorir Sigei
  • 2nd place – Leonard Kimboi
  • 3rd place – Jackson Chirchir

21K Female Category

  • 1st place – Christine Hallasgo
  • 2nd place – April Diaz
  • 3rd placer – Maricar Camacho

10K Male Category

  • 1st place – James Kevin Cruz
  • 2nd place – Gilbert Laido
  • 3rd place – Anthony Nerza

10K Female Category

  • 1st place – Luisa Raterta
  • 2nd place – Jocelyn Elijeran
  • 3rd place – Rica Moreno

5K Male Category

  • 1st place – Immuel Camino
  • 2nd place – Evelon Abutas
  • 3rd place – Rowel Galvero

5K Female Category

  • 1st place – Joida Gagnao
  • 2nd place – Joneza Sustituedo
  • 3rd place – Emmalyn Taypin

3K Male Category

  • 1st place – Erwin Mancao
  • 2nd place – Michael Gomez
  • 3rd place – Norbert Cailao

3K Female Category

  • 1st place – Lina Abutas
  • 2nd place – Liza Abutas
  • 3rd place – Angel Mendoza

2019 Biggest Delegations

  • Boy Scouts of the Philippines
  • Landbank of the Philippines Runners club


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *